Auckland hospitality pinpoints its talent

April 23, 2014 • Events, Featured

awardThe Auckland hospitality industry has spoken, the votes are in and the finalists for the 2014 Lewisham Awards have been announced.

With a record breaking 7,386 votes from their industry peers, the finalists represent the leading lights of the Auckland restaurant scene.

Lewisham Foundation chairman Chris Upton says the number of votes is heartening.

“It’s an increase of more than 10 per cent over 2013 which I believe shows the industry is really getting behind these awards,” says Upton. “In particular it’s great to see a mix of older hands and exciting newcomers among the finalists.

“There’s no bigger accolade than one awarded by your peers so to be named a finalist is something each of these people can be very proud of.

“The Auckland hospitality scene is abuzz at the moment; there’s a great feeling in the industry and this year’s list of finalists is very impressive. I wouldn’t like to be picking the winners,” says Upton.

The award winners are announced on Sunday 1 June at a formal event at Shed 10 where more than 700 guests are expected.

The 2014 finalists are:

Moet Hennessy Outstanding Hospitality Personality

Ganesh Raj, The Tasting Shed
Jeremy Turner, Cibo
Judith Tabron, Soul Bar & Bistro
Mark Wallbank, The Blue Breeze Inn

Pernod Ricard Outstanding Restaurateur

Mark Wallbank, The Blue Breeze Inn
Melissa Morrow, Ponsonby Road Bistro
Michael Dearth, Baduzzi
Sven Nielson, Molten

Gilmours Outstanding Chef

Ben Bayly, Baduzzi
Che Barrington, Moochowchow
Kate Faye, Cibo
Sid Sahrawat, SIDART

Moana Pacific Seafood Emerging Talent

Elizabeth Birch, Eight.Two
Darren Mynes, Monsoon Poon
Jonathan Lefevre, Ortolana

Menumate Outstanding New Venue

Mekong Baby
The Blue Breeze Inn

General Digital Outstanding Maitre d’

Brandon Lela’ulu, Prego
Jenny Kiihfuss, Harbourside
Matt Keegan, Picolli Piatti
Sonya Chan, Molten

Caffe L’affare Outstanding Coffee Establishment / Barista

Twenty Three
Suzanne Hemus, Chocolate Brown
Dylan Taylor, Latin Larder
Duke Tran, Rad

Eurovintage Outstanding Wine List

O’Connell Street Bistro

Angostura Outstanding Bartender

Barney Toy, Fukuko
Dan Sullivan, Montage
Oliver Crosbie, Mo’s
Phil Mead, The Whiskey

Telecom NZ Outstanding Supplier

Mineral Ltd
Zeal Fresh
Neat Meat

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Waiter

Angie Gunville, Meredith’s
Nick Harding, Baduzzi
Patrick Rhodes, Clooney
Yaeko Kato, Eight.Two

Restaurant Association of New Zealand Outstanding Sales Representative

Angie Atkinson, Ohau Wines
Ben Longhurst, Eurovintage
James Barber, Mineral Ltd
Paul Simmons, Manifesto Wines

Beam Bar Legend Outstanding Bar

The Golden Dawn

One Music Outstanding Establishment

Monsoon Poon
The French Café
Coco’s Cantina & Bar
Botswana Butchery

Waterfront Auckland Outstanding Local

Elbow Room
Pinot Plus
Freida Margolis
Stafford Road Wine Bar

Rubbish Direct Outstanding Caterer

The Great Catering Company
Urban Gourmet
Mint Kitchen

Negociants NZ Outstanding Wine Service Professional

Edmundo Farrera, Andiamo
Gary Olasz, Clooney
John Logan, O’Connell Street Bistro
Piers Haszard, Botswana Butchery

Related Posts

« »